Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 14, 2024, 07:19:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 06:20:11 PM]

[Today at 05:45:23 PM]

[Today at 04:06:31 PM]

[Today at 03:38:07 PM]

[Today at 03:35:58 PM]

[Today at 02:27:49 PM]

[Today at 10:16:35 AM]

[Today at 09:51:21 AM]

[Today at 08:16:44 AM]

[May 13, 2024, 09:18:31 PM]

[May 13, 2024, 05:08:57 PM]

[May 13, 2024, 02:26:27 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: How to read weather forecast?  (Read 3076 times)

fisher

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Aug 2012
I am a newbie trying to figure out how to read the weather forecast. From old posts, it seems the following websites are commonly used for WX forecasts:
http://www.ndbc.noaa.gov and http://forecast.weather.gov.

weather.gov has both zone forecast and single location forecast (where you can select any point on the map), while noaa.gov has only zone forecast. It seems the zone forecast are same for both sites.

My question is: should the zone forecast or single location forecast be used? For example, Timber Cove area forecast for the coming labor day:

Zone Forecast:
Labor Day: NW winds 5 to 15 kt. Wind waves 1 to 3 ft. Mixed swell NW 3 to 5 ft and SW 3 ft. Patchy fog.

Single location forecast:
Labor Day: Variable winds less than 5 kt becoming WSW around 6 kt in the afternoon. Patchy fog before 11am. Mixed swell...WNW 3 to 4 ft and SW 2 ft. Wind waves around 1 ft.

Will the WX condition be good or not? I have some concern for the mixed swell, especially the SW 3 ft. (As some old posts warn on mixed swells and long period south waves). 

Thanks in advance!

EWB

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Mar 2008