Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 03:55:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 03:52:19 PM]

[Today at 01:09:18 PM]

[Today at 11:46:31 AM]

[Today at 10:38:46 AM]

[Today at 10:16:10 AM]

[Today at 08:56:12 AM]

[Today at 06:30:45 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:07:13 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:29:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:26:53 PM]

by Rick
[April 23, 2024, 06:21:18 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:01:09 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 01:20:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:23:34 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 12:06:38 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 06:24:32 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Crabbing in Bolinas Lagoon  (Read 3997 times)

asolor

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jun 2020
I'm thinking of going crabbing in Bolinas this coming weekend.  I'm a newbie kayaker so a bit concerned about launching into the surf and more importantly, coming back in with  crab pots.  Any input you all can share would be much appreciated.

simplycook

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
Are you going into the lagoon or out into the ocean?

Into the lagoon is fairly in and out.  But the channel can be swift and it’s not productive if the water is moving too much. 

Going out into the ocean can be productive, I haven’t seen many reports from there.  Launching and landing can always be a daunting task when loaded with crab traps for any kayaker.

Loebs

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Aug 2020
I had a yard sale at bolinas without crab traps. Make sure everything is tied down or leashed up. If the waves are an issue you may want to leave your fishing stuff on the beach drop pots then come back for your fishing stuff.

kkenn

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015