Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 05, 2024, 06:01:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 05:48:17 AM]

[Today at 02:42:39 AM]

[May 04, 2024, 10:52:45 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 10:50:54 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 10:00:25 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 08:32:14 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 06:25:48 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 05:21:33 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 02:41:39 PM]

[May 04, 2024, 11:16:20 AM]

[May 04, 2024, 09:54:38 AM]

[May 04, 2024, 09:10:22 AM]

[May 04, 2024, 08:22:51 AM]

[May 04, 2024, 07:15:26 AM]

[May 03, 2024, 09:53:25 PM]

[May 03, 2024, 03:08:35 PM]

[May 03, 2024, 02:48:07 PM]

[May 03, 2024, 09:34:21 AM]

[May 03, 2024, 08:13:57 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Canning Herring 2023  (Read 4187 times)

Eddie

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Mar 2016
Total newb yet doing my homework.  Seasonings, pressure canner science, jar size choices.  I left the bucket in my cooler and dumped ice on it overnight in the van.  Dumped them all out in the big cooler this morning and put salt and water to begin cleaning for some bait storage and soon to be choosing an amount to scale and gut.  Freeze until I'm ready to can em'.  Massive jiz and slime and some roe in raw product...kinda nasty yet real, I think TLA digs the jiz but he can comment on that fishy aspect if he finds this thread...stay tuned... :smt006
« Last Edit: January 19, 2023, 09:17:58 AM by Eddie »
“I’m going fishing.”  They said, “we will go with you.” 
John 21:3

Stealth Pro Fisha 475
Jackson Kraken 15
Native Manta Ray 12.5
Werner Cyprus 220cm

SpeedyStein

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Sep 2020
Nice!  Good luck on your canning adventure.  My grandma used to can albacore when I was a kid - the whole neighborhood would stink like fish for a week after that!  But, it was WAY better than the stuff you get in a can at the store.  She would do 2 or 3 whole fish at a time - would end up with several cases of the stuff.