Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 15, 2024, 10:53:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 10:38:53 PM]

[Today at 10:36:10 PM]

[Today at 10:28:01 PM]

[Today at 09:35:28 PM]

[Today at 09:34:00 PM]

[Today at 07:44:11 PM]

[Today at 04:54:29 PM]

[Today at 02:08:42 PM]

[Today at 01:54:14 PM]

[Today at 11:53:02 AM]

[Today at 11:47:27 AM]

[Today at 10:36:28 AM]

[Today at 10:19:30 AM]

[April 14, 2024, 09:28:20 PM]

[April 14, 2024, 11:07:25 AM]

[April 14, 2024, 07:39:42 AM]

[April 13, 2024, 05:09:58 PM]

[April 13, 2024, 11:43:58 AM]

[April 12, 2024, 10:13:23 PM]

[April 12, 2024, 10:01:01 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Recommended lures to target Lings  (Read 1890 times)

maethlin

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jul 2021
If this should be in a different forum, please let me know. I'm still learning the lay of the land here.

I've had a few trips out now to rockfish/ling territory, and have had no problems at all getting rockfish (shrimp flies and squid, the usual)... but I'm wondering how to best target ling in particular. Obviously live bait works great, but I'm wondering if people had particular favorite lures that they've found effective?

I'm assuming large plastic swimbaits would work, but don't even know where to start... there are so many options. All my fishing background is from freshwater/smaller fish so my experience is pretty much useless hunting such a large, aggressive fish in the ocean lol.

(The more specific the better too, I looked online and saw some articles talking about the p-line diamond bar jig and other stuff, but I'd love to hear more from experienced kayakers)

Sailfish

• Manatee
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Sep 2006
Ling is not picky and will eat anything but "real" baits give you a slight edge over "artificial ".
"Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass...it's about learning how to dance in the rain."