Kayak Zone > Kayaks

Outback vs Compass

(1/1)

poulton:
Any info on hull differences between Outback and Compass

Outback is heavier and leaning toward the compass

Corey:
I've had both. I think it's pretty straight forward

Outback is bigger, better equipped for downriggers and more gear and better storage, especially as delivered.

Compass is lighter (valuable feature) and it costs some additional money to get the storage in a better position (install square hatch and move round up front). Even then, you won't have the h-rail system that is a winner on the Outback.

All in all, i like the outback. But the weight of the Compass is definitely something i miss.

NowhereMan:
I have no experience with either but this discussion on the Hobie forum might be useful:

https://www.hobie.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=140&t=64022

Poopsmith:
I was worried about the weight difference between the two, and I just felt that the compass would be easier to manage, but the truth is its like 13 lbs difference and almost identical length, the outback just has sharper edges that make it less manageble. I was worried because my last kayak was so difficult to car top it would prevent me from going out as much but with the new outbacks kickstand car topping is SUPER EASY and i dont feel constrained by it at all.

I mean i cant lift it over my head or anything especially with all the gear and storage items i have in the hull + the water that seems to always splash in, but that little kickstand is a back saver and a rudder saver. the compass has something similar but I think you need to strap it in, the outback version snaps in super secure with the awesome hbar handle in the back.

Love my outback once I figured out how to load it easily, but I think i would also be happy w a compass.

Nicky Boombatz:
I went with the Compass and I like it.