Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 10:25:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 10:16:10 AM]

[Today at 08:56:12 AM]

[Today at 08:46:36 AM]

[Today at 08:45:08 AM]

[Today at 08:01:43 AM]

[Today at 06:30:45 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:07:13 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:29:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:26:53 PM]

by Rick
[April 23, 2024, 06:21:18 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:01:09 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 01:20:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:23:34 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 12:06:38 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 06:24:32 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 05:23:36 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 04:53:56 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Prowler 13T questions  (Read 2442 times)

clockwise

• Salmon
  • Lloyd
  • View Profile Youtube channel
  • Date Registered: May 2021
Just picked up a used prowler 13T and have some questions since I'm brand new to kayaks.

-I'd like to mount a rod holder in front of me and the best place seems to be on top of the gunnel on a gear track. Is it okay to use a gear track mounted rod holder for trolling? Also the flat spot on the gunnel is only about 1" wide so it looks like I would need skinny gear tracks such as the yakattack geartracs. Anyone done this before?

-Any recommendations for kayak carts? Scupper hole vs cradle type? For the cradle type would I be better off going with one with a deep V to cradle the front/rear keel?

-Any tips for loading the kayak on top of my suv? When trying to slide it up upside-down, the eyelets and screws get in protrude from the hell and act like speed bumps. If loading the kayak right side up, the bottom of the hull isn't very flat so it would sit tilted against my roof rack. Is it okay to strap the kayak down like this?

Thanks!
Ocean Kayak Prowler 13T (Sold to NCKA member)
Hobie Revolution 13

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCT6lX2sIkRcM5-qdjlM4aiA

&

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile