Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 23, 2018, 04:04:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 02:31:07 AM]

[Today at 01:06:27 AM]

[January 22, 2018, 11:43:09 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 10:46:03 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 10:38:01 PM]

by KPD
[January 22, 2018, 09:54:29 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 09:46:18 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 09:01:32 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 09:01:17 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 08:59:26 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 08:51:12 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 08:46:34 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 08:35:32 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 07:22:48 PM]

by bmb
[January 22, 2018, 06:20:03 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 06:06:57 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 06:06:42 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 05:39:50 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 05:18:29 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 05:09:16 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 05:01:22 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 04:57:33 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 04:33:05 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 04:18:54 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 02:40:57 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 02:19:29 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 02:07:13 PM]

[January 22, 2018, 10:57:15 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

2018 AOTY/DOTY Entry

Topic: Bought a car with a Thule 480 R roof rack - ready to buy a Pro Angler?  (Read 289 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

freelancer27

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: Sausalito, CA
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 36
Hi all,

I just bought a used car (Mazda 6) and it came with a fairly new Thule 480 R (and the bars, I think they are these: https://www.rackattack.com/base-roof-rack-systems/bare-roof-mount-rack-systems/thule-480r-rapid-traverse/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=ppc&utm_content=Thule+480R+Rapid+Traverse&utm_campaign=brand+item+three+-+Top+Brands+-+search+-+broad+-+Enhanced+CPC)

I am planning to buy a fishing kayak in early 2018. I want to make sure that I am ready. So, I am wondering if this set up would be ready for a Hobie Outback, Pro Angler 12/14.

What do I need else? Who could help me with this?


HamachiJohn

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Ramon; Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 2760
I know nothing of PA's, but I hope your back is in good shape! Congrats.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Down to 1 Hobie Revo...


Fish67

  • Salmon
  • ***
  • View Profile
  • Location: South San Francisco
  • Date Registered: May 2017
  • Posts: 128
You should be ok. I didn't find the max weight on that site you provided, but found it some where else. It's rated at 165 lbs. I car topped my PA14 on a rented dodge van when I first bought it this year. It had the stock roof rack.

Drove from SD to SF with no issues.


Mung

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: Napa, CA;
  • Date Registered: Jul 2013
  • Posts: 49
rigged weight on the 12' is 128#, on the 14' is 144#. Personally, im not enthralled loading my Manta Ray 14' or Magic 14.5, both about 70# or so, atop my Toyota FJ, though your car will be much lower. 
Manta Ray 14'; Magic 14.5'


NowhereMan

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • 44.5" and 38.55 pounds
  • View Profile YouTube Channel
  • Location: Los Gatos Mountains
  • Date Registered: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 4573
I heard that every hobie PA comes with a free hernia belt.
I'm an ordinary guy, 'cept I can fly
And sometimes I'm invisible


SmokeOnTheWater

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3290
I used to have a PA12.  I would highly recommend using some type of load assist bar.  I know Thule makes them, but not sure if they fit on those flat aero bars.  If you have square bars, it should work.  You will break your back trying to lift it otherwise. 
If you ain't first, you're last.

1st - 2013 Yakhopper Delta Madness (Bass)


freelancer27

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: Sausalito, CA
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 36
You should be ok. I didn't find the max weight on that site you provided, but found it some where else. It's rated at 165 lbs. I car topped my PA14 on a rented dodge van when I first bought it this year. It had the stock roof rack.

Drove from SD to SF with no issues.

Sweet! THanks for checking! Could you please link me to the site, so I can see with my own eyes. I am a bit nervous putting a 3.5k yak on our 'new' car without making sure 100% that it is save.

Thanks!


Fish67

  • Salmon
  • ***
  • View Profile
  • Location: South San Francisco
  • Date Registered: May 2017
  • Posts: 128
So sorry for the late response. Here you go... https://www.thule.com/en-us/us/roof-rack/accessories/thule-traverse-foot-pack-_-481650


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk