Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 03:01:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 01:12:46 AM]

[Today at 12:58:22 AM]

[Today at 12:48:36 AM]

by Tez
[November 22, 2017, 11:37:56 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 10:08:58 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 09:33:26 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 09:13:05 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:38:44 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:29:54 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:12:32 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:06:04 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 07:50:56 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 07:00:14 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 06:44:00 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 05:44:51 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 05:23:42 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 04:04:32 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 02:30:55 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 01:41:38 PM]

[November 22, 2017, 11:01:33 AM]

[November 22, 2017, 09:01:36 AM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:53:58 AM]

[November 22, 2017, 08:18:42 AM]

[November 22, 2017, 07:33:08 AM]

[November 21, 2017, 10:12:51 PM]

[November 21, 2017, 08:28:56 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

2017 AOTY/DOTY Entry

Topic: Anchors  (Read 298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheLocksmith

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: south san francisco
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 17
Iím thinking of adding an anchor to my hobie... so far I havent need one. What are your guys thoughts?  Is it necessary? 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


yakyakyak

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • Huh? What?
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 1240

It depends on what your needs are.  If you do decide on one, search for QRAS.

Santa Cruz Raptor G2 <--- Simply awesome (www.santacruzkayaks.com)



         


HamachiJohn

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Ramon; Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 2605
IÔŅĹm thinking of adding an anchor to my hobie... so far I havent need one. What are your guys thoughts?  Is it necessary? 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you will fish where there is current, like the bay and delta, then yes. If for the ocean, u can use a drift chute.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Down to 1 Hobie Revo...


DG

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • First joined in 2013
  • View Profile
  • Location: Ft Bragg
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 3337
When Diving from my hobie I always use an anchor. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-----------------------------------
DG = 1st name Duane / last name starts with G.  Not very creative, but InsaneDuane was already taken.


TheLocksmith

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: south san francisco
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 17

[/quote]If you will fish where there is current, like the bay and delta, then yes. If for the ocean, u can use a drift chute.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
[/quote]

I fish a lot in the bay near the tubes and I manage to keep fishing just fine without an anchor

I was thinking I would need an anchor to go on the Oceanside like Monterey. What is a drift chute?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Eddie

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Marin
  • Date Registered: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 1616

If you will fish where there is current, like the bay and delta, then yes. If for the ocean, u can use a drift chute.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
[/quote]

I fish a lot in the bay near the tubes and I manage to keep fishing just fine without an anchor

I was thinking I would need an anchor to go on the Oceanside like Monterey. What is a drift chute?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[/quote]When you say keep fishing do you mean you are catching fish?  Have you caught a sturgeon without an anchor.  Stripers and halibut no anchor......stripers on the anchor with bait is a pleasant rest... :smt006
Word to the wise if your mama aint' taught ya' "Don't stand in front of a man and a fish he aint' caught yet.  Brock Zeman song "I'm goin' fishin"

Jackson Kraken 15.7


TheLocksmith

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: south san francisco
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 17

If you will fish where there is current, like the bay and delta, then yes. If for the ocean, u can use a drift chute.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

I fish a lot in the bay near the tubes and I manage to keep fishing just fine without an anchor

I was thinking I would need an anchor to go on the Oceanside like Monterey. What is a drift chute?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[/quote]When you say keep fishing do you mean you are catching fish?  Have you caught a sturgeon without an anchor.  Stripers and halibut no anchor......stripers on the anchor with bait is a pleasant rest... :smt006
[/quote]

Iíve never caught a sturgeon in my life! I would love to! I donít even know where to start with that.

Halibut Iíve tried once about 2 weeks ago by trolling some rig that I got from Hiís Tackle, but turns out I was doing it alllll wrong!

I would love to learn the 2 above! Thatís why Iím here on this forum to learn from others that know better.

As for stripers I do ok I think for doing this kayak fishing thing for about a month. Still trying to figure it out.

I would say I have about 20 hours of fishing time total from the kayak [emoji23]. (Life time)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


HamachiJohn

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Ramon; Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 2605
When Diving from my hobie I always use an anchor. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Oh yeah, and that. Forgot that I was using an anchor last week diving... Lol

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Down to 1 Hobie Revo...


TheLocksmith

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: south san francisco
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 17
When Diving from my hobie I always use an anchor. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Oh yeah, and that. Forgot that I was using an anchor last week diving... Lol

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
Iím fishing rod and reel! Tooo scared to ever try that!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


TheLocksmith

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: south san francisco
  • Date Registered: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 17

It depends on what your needs are.  If you do decide on one, search for QRAS.
Whats is QRAS?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


HamachiJohn

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Ramon; Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 2605

It depends on what your needs are.  If you do decide on one, search for QRAS.
Whats is QRAS?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quick Release Anchor System. Lots of Youtube videos on it.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Down to 1 Hobie Revo...


yakyakyak

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • Huh? What?
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 1240

Anchor could be a death sentence if you tip over and can't release it from your yak, especially in heavy current, sleigh ride, or swell.  That's why you want to have a QRAS.  Also, better to have it at the bow or stearn instead of midship on a heavy current. 
Santa Cruz Raptor G2 <--- Simply awesome (www.santacruzkayaks.com)



         


Tote

  • One life, right? Don't blow it.
  • Global Moderator
  • View Profile
  • Location: Placerville, CA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11875
QRAS tutorial:

http://www.norcalkayakanglers.com/index.php?topic=16289.0

A drift chute is a device that when needed it's a good idea to find a better day to fish.

Also, the search function is a fantastic tool on NCKA.
<=>


pmmpete

  • Salmon
  • ***
  • View Profile
  • Location: Missoula, Montana
  • Date Registered: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 162
You can do a lot of kinds of fishing for a lot of years without any need for an anchor. So don't feel that you need to set up your kayak with an anchor trolley and an anchor just to have one.

But there are some kinds of fishing where I find an anchor useful, such as when jigging over schools of fish, sturgeon fishing, and spearfishing.  If you encounter experienced kayak anglers who are using anchors while fishing, and you find that it's hard for you to fish in that area and for that species without an anchor, then you could consider setting up your kayak for an anchor.

To anchor your kayak, you need to install an anchor trolley, so you can run the anchor line out to the bow or stern of your kayak, so the kayak will stream out on the anchor rope in line with the wind and/or current. Attaching an anchor to the side of your kayak is a recipe for disaster, because waves and current will be hitting the side of your kayak and trying to flip it over.

Be very cautious about anchoring in any significant current, because you can get in trouble very fast.  For example, your kayak could swing somewhat sideways to the current, the current could hit the upstream side of your kayak and flip it over, and you could get swept away from your kayak.

If the wind and waves increase while you're on anchor, things can start to get kind of exciting.  If this happens, immediately paddle or pedal upwind to take tension off your anchor line, and then pull up your anchor.



Dale L

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Martinez
  • Date Registered: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 4319
Setting and pulling your anchor in our bay system is the most hazardous thing you'll do on a day of bait fishing, unless of course you bring a big sturgeon to the boat too soon.

With that said, if you want to bait fish the bay system for stripers or sturgeon an anchor is a must have, if you do have an anchor the QRAS is also a must have, pretty much an absolute must have.

As said before, in moving water never ever try to anchor off the side of the yak.