Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 21, 2018, 06:46:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 05:43:01 AM]

[Today at 12:17:08 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 11:53:54 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 10:04:37 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 09:45:49 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 08:42:03 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 08:29:15 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 08:26:40 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 07:30:33 PM]

by DG
[August 20, 2018, 07:20:54 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 06:43:09 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 06:08:08 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 05:07:55 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 05:05:46 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 04:24:13 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 03:26:42 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 03:24:11 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 02:17:51 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 01:36:36 PM]

by bmb
[August 20, 2018, 01:30:38 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 01:02:39 PM]

[August 20, 2018, 11:55:59 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 11:33:20 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 11:19:10 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 10:53:36 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 10:12:45 AM]

[August 20, 2018, 10:06:26 AM]

by bmb
[August 20, 2018, 09:25:48 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

2018 AOTY/DOTY Entry

Topic: I too have battery woes...  (Read 327 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HamachiJohn

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Ramon; Santa Clara
  • Date Registered: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 2764
I too have battery woes...

Fishfinder: Lowrance Elite 5 Chirp

For the first 30 minutes or so, I get a depth reading of +/- 2 feet.  Then it worked fine.
It wasn't on simulation mode.

The transducer is mounted on a Revo 13, Lowrance ready mount.

Battery is an eBay battery (12v SLA).

Thanks in advance
Down to 1 Hobie Revo...


traildad

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Vacaville
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 3676
I too have battery woes...

Fishfinder: Lowrance Elite 5 Chirp

For the first 30 minutes or so, I get a depth reading of +/- 2 feet.  Then it worked fine.
It wasn't on simulation mode.

The transducer is mounted on a Revo 13, Lowrance ready mount.

Battery is an eBay battery (12v SLA).

Thanks in advance
I don't see how that would be a battery problem. I've had similar readings before. If the depth range is set different than the water depth you're in the FF gets confused and can't find the bottom. Even if it is set on auto depth it can lose the bottom if the water you're in is different than what depth setting it is on.
http://www.norcalkayakanglers.com/index.php?topic=42846.msg470404#msg470404

The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.  ~John Buchan


KPD

  • Salmon
  • ***
  • View Profile
  • Location: San Mateo
  • Date Registered: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 882
Is the transducer mount dirty? If there is sand or dirt on the plastic that sits between the transducer and open water, I think that can mess it up.

I've occasionally had my Hook 5 lose the bottom and get stuck reading 1 foot after going over a super dense school of anchovies. Pretty funny: the fish broke my fishfinder. When that happened I just rebooted and it was fine.


CGN-38

  • Del Valle Storm Trooper
  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • Survivor Del Valle FnC 09'
  • View Profile
  • Location: Felton, CA. (In the Redwoods)
  • Date Registered: Mar 2005
  • Posts: 3552
 :smt006

  I don't seem to have any of these problems with my ancient Cuda 250 gps.  What good is a depth sounder if it "Gets lost" by doing its job?


Member/survivor STORM TROOPER Brigade


Eddie

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Marin
  • Date Registered: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 2798
:smt006

  I don't seem to have any of these problems with my ancient Cuda 250 gps.  What good is a depth sounder if it "Gets lost" by doing its job?
I have a cuda 350 and it worked well but I went for a hook 4 and I'm finding the cuda was just fine. I just wanted color but it all the same.  I guess no chip.
Word to the wise if your mama aint' taught ya' "Don't stand in front of a man and a fish he aint' caught yet.  Brock Zeman song "I'm goin' fishin"

Jackson Kraken 15.7


traildad

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Vacaville
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 3676
:smt006

  I don't seem to have any of these problems with my ancient Cuda 250 gps.  What good is a depth sounder if it "Gets lost" by doing its job?
I understand the frustration. If it does it again try changing the manual setting to a depth near to how deep you think the water. That should get it to look in the right depth and find the bottom. I've had mine read my downrigger ball as the bottom while in very deep water.  :smt009
http://www.norcalkayakanglers.com/index.php?topic=42846.msg470404#msg470404

The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.  ~John Buchan


hightide

  • Sea Lion
  • ****
  • View Profile
  • Location: Benicia
  • Date Registered: Apr 2007
  • Posts: 3480
Is the transducer mount dirty? If there is sand or dirt on the plastic that sits between the transducer and open water, I think that can mess it up.

I've occasionally had my Hook 5 lose the bottom and get stuck reading 1 foot after going over a super dense school of anchovies. Pretty funny: the fish broke my fishfinder. When that happened I just rebooted and it was fine.
Had the same problem on a recent trip to HMB.  Found out the cavity that the transducer was mounted in had a bunch of sand/dirt in it.  Prob from dragging hobie backward.  Found out about it when cleaning the cavity with a spray nozzle and thick amount of dirt washed off.  Works fine now.
ALLAN

2015 Hobie AI
OK T15

Live, Love, Launch!


 

anything