Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 20, 2017, 03:43:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 12:28:23 AM]

[November 19, 2017, 11:06:34 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 10:42:39 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 10:23:04 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 09:47:30 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 09:45:12 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 09:13:47 PM]

by achu
[November 19, 2017, 07:44:21 PM]

by achu
[November 19, 2017, 07:25:49 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 07:21:52 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 06:39:29 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 05:46:47 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 02:59:13 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 02:03:00 PM]

[November 19, 2017, 10:44:41 AM]

[November 19, 2017, 08:00:53 AM]

[November 19, 2017, 06:50:10 AM]

[November 19, 2017, 12:24:42 AM]

[November 18, 2017, 10:00:28 PM]

[November 18, 2017, 09:21:54 PM]

by DG
[November 18, 2017, 08:27:42 PM]

[November 18, 2017, 06:05:49 PM]

[November 18, 2017, 04:49:58 PM]

[November 18, 2017, 10:17:42 AM]

[November 18, 2017, 08:55:05 AM]

[November 18, 2017, 08:43:27 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

2017 AOTY/DOTY Entry

Topic: Transducer Quality  (Read 200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • View Profile
  • Location: peninsula
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 142
I have always mounted my transducer inside my kayak but just bought a new one and it has a big space to mount it through the scupper. Do you know if you get a better image mounting it through the scupper hole over mounting it inside the hull. They have the Lowrance scupper mounts just trying to find out if the extra money will get me a better picture.
Steve


Odonata

  • Sand Dab
  • **
  • View Profile
  • Location: SJC
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 24
No idea, just wanted to let you know you posted this in the "Fly Fishing" subforum :)


bmb

  • Also, no, I don't know computer stuff other than how to be a dick online.
  • AOTY Committee
  • *
  • View Profile
  • Location: Livermoron
  • Date Registered: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 6428
I have always mounted my transducer inside my kayak but just bought a new one and it has a big space to mount it through the scupper. Do you know if you get a better image mounting it through the scupper hole over mounting it inside the hull. They have the Lowrance scupper mounts just trying to find out if the extra money will get me a better picture.
Steve
Not significantly better image, but water temp will be a lot more accurate.  Image degradation is minimal at most shooting through hull.


RacinRob

  • AOTY Committee
  • *
  • Wilderness Systems Pro Staff
  • View Profile
  • Location: Sheridan
  • Date Registered: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 7812
Mine looks the same both ways. I use the same head unit on two kayaks. One is through hull and the other is trans in the water.
http://21ten.com/Rob/10Day/       http://WildernessSystems.com  
http://ShastaTackle.com

Wilderness Systems Pro Staff                       Heroes on the Water Gear Collector
Adventure Technology Paddles Pro Staff         Shasta Tackle Pro Staff
2017 ARW Halibut 3rd Place
2017 Berryessa Salmon Slam MBF winner
2014 GS8 1st Place AOTD
2014 Trinidad Rockfish Wars 1st Place--- Teamed w/ATD
2014 AOTY 3rd Place-Again
2013 AOTY 3rd Place
2012 Berryessa Salmon Slam  1st Place
2012 Sonoma Slam 1st Place---Teamed w/ATD
2012 TRW 2 1st Place----Teamed w/ATD
2012 PIF Big Salmon Winner
2012 Fresh Kats Series Champion
2012-13-14 Team NCKA Kayak Wars 1st Place Team Overall


  • View Profile
  • Location: peninsula
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 142
Thanks for the input sounds like I will be mounting inside the hull and saving the money