Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 05:55:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[April 23, 2024, 11:40:20 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:07:13 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:50:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:29:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:26:53 PM]

by Rick
[April 23, 2024, 06:21:18 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:01:09 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 05:53:10 PM]

by &
[April 23, 2024, 05:23:24 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 01:20:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:23:34 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 12:06:38 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 06:24:32 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 05:23:36 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 04:53:56 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Need help finding and catching small blue rockfish, for science!  (Read 1469 times)

• View Profile
  • Date Registered: May 2011
Hi Kayak Anglers-

I'm a student at Moss Landing Marine Laboratories, and my master's thesis work concentrates on defining the maturity of the blue rockfish, sebastes mystinus

Please don't laugh, but I've been having a hard time getting blue rockfish of the small size of my sample range, in the 15-23 centimeter total length (5.9-9.1 inches). 
I go out kayak fishing fairly regularly, and also have tried freediving and surveying on fishing charters, but it seems where ever I am, the small fish aren't.  The only solution I can think of is to get as many poles in the water, as much as possible, which is why I am asking for your help, if you'll so kindly lend some.

If anyone is fishing in the Half Moon Bay, Monterey, or Morro Bay areas, and happens along a school of small blues of that size range, please reply to this post and let me know when and where they were, so I can go sample/fish there myself.