Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 04:38:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 02:58:59 PM]

[Today at 01:13:46 PM]

[Today at 11:50:57 AM]

[Today at 11:49:33 AM]

[Today at 11:08:39 AM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:25:42 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:05:39 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 12:35:34 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 11:18:23 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 07:45:07 PM]

[March 26, 2024, 06:19:03 PM]

[March 26, 2024, 05:47:06 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Need Some advice on Down Rigger  (Read 923 times)

• View Profile
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
I have a Pro Angler 14 and need some advice on which down rigger i should purchase
I will be fishing for salmon and lake trout.

NowhereMan

• Manatee
  • 44.5"/38.5#
  • View Profile YouTube Channel
  • Date Registered: Aug 2011
I have a Scotty Depthmaster and like it, but it takes some effort to mount it on a kayak.

I’ve never piloted a PA, but just wondering whether trolling for salmon from one is feasible...
Born in Arizona
Moved to Babylonia
Got a condo made of stone-a

AngleDangle

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Aug 2017
I installed the Scotty mini lake with the line swapped out for 80lb braid and running a 2lb cannon ball and it went smoothly when i tried it out.

DRT Yakbah

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jan 2018
I have the scotty lake troller on my Outback. It took a little bending on my part but I got it in pretty fine in the recessed gear tray. I use mine all the time in freshwater and love it. I do want to switch out the cable for heavy braid like Dangle mentioned because the cable hums and it can get annoying.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 05:37:17 AM by DRT Yakbah »

NowhereMan

• Manatee
  • 44.5"/38.5#
... I do want to switch out the cable for heavy braid ...

For safety, I’d strongly recommend braid over cable. And, carry a knife that you can access instantly to cut the ball loose if need be.