Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 10, 2024, 07:29:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 07:03:14 PM]

[Today at 06:11:15 PM]

[Today at 05:28:35 PM]

[Today at 05:25:02 PM]

[Today at 04:13:44 PM]

[Today at 03:35:39 PM]

by capo
[Today at 12:49:47 PM]

[May 09, 2024, 01:04:03 PM]

[May 09, 2024, 10:15:40 AM]

[May 09, 2024, 08:12:28 AM]

[May 09, 2024, 07:35:53 AM]

[May 09, 2024, 06:46:52 AM]

[May 08, 2024, 04:58:49 PM]

[May 08, 2024, 12:29:15 PM]

[May 07, 2024, 06:30:10 PM]

[May 07, 2024, 05:11:37 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Hobie i11s & hooks  (Read 1685 times)

Salty.

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Sep 2006
So I've been fishing off my i11s for several months now & thought I'd report back about the assumed perceptions about it's sturdiness vs reality. I've managed to puncture the right side chamber twice now. This is the side I always fish from and my hooks make contact with.

The repair kit instructions state to put one drop of the supplied glue on any hole 1/8" or less and let dry. Both of my holes were tiny pin pricks and the glue works great in completely sealing them up. The first hole was from a 8/0-4oz swimbait leadhead & I'm not sure about the second one might have been a 2/0 circle hook.

Both holes resulted in very slow air leaks where by the end of the fishing day you could see that chamber was low. If you sprayed the area with soapy water or windex you could see the tiniest of bubbles coming from the puncture.

So there you have it. Not the catastrophic hull failures that some assumed would happen but definitely there's a trade off between the low weight & portability of this material vs the sturdiness of a regular polyethylene hull.