Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 08:46:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 08:15:24 AM]

[Today at 08:08:08 AM]

[Today at 07:42:13 AM]

[March 28, 2024, 11:34:08 PM]

[March 28, 2024, 09:44:18 PM]

[March 28, 2024, 09:12:36 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:25:42 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:05:39 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 12:35:34 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 11:18:23 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 07:45:07 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Fishing out of Bodega Bay  (Read 6449 times)

Ring King

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Jun 2013
Looking to "get my feet wet" in the salt water here on the West coast.  I've been fishing from a Hobie Pro Angler for the last two years and don't have another boat at this time.  I'd love to be able to get out and chase lings and rockfish but don't have any interest in surf launching my PA.  The idea of turtling a boat this size is just not pleasant.  Is it possible to get out somewhere in the Bodega Bay area where a suf launch wouldn't be required?

What kind of distance would be required to find rockfish and ling?  I believe I've got all the tackle required, and I know I have all the appropriate safety gear.  I will have to pick up a wetsuit or dry suit before I make a go at it though. 

I'm looking to buy another boat this spring.  I was looking at getting a second Pro Angler but if I take a liking to the salt here I may get a Hobie Outback instead just bc I believe it would be easier to surf launch it.  I keep seeing all the pics of rockfish and hearing of delicious fish tacos and would like to get my hands on some too!!

Dale L

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Dec 2005
If you can get your boat to the water, Stillwater Cove N, has a really protected launch, it's about 100yds from parking to water mostly flat except for a set of large stone steps that drops from the walkway down to beach level.