Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 01:24:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[April 24, 2024, 11:51:19 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 11:16:08 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 09:45:12 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 08:39:39 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 07:56:21 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 07:50:41 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 04:31:01 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 11:46:31 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 10:38:46 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 10:16:10 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 06:30:45 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:07:13 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:29:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:26:53 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:01:09 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 01:20:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:23:34 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 12:06:38 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Why not to use mono from kayak  (Read 4288 times)

Michael_Alive

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Apr 2020
I am new to kayaking, so it would be great to have more experienced people chime in. I also notice there's a TON of new people on this site, so hopefully this can save someone some hassle.

Anyway I went out last weekend with my rod spooled with 30# mono, which is what I use to fish from shore because it is cheap and I didn't see why I should need two spools of line for one rod. I will definitely never fish from a kayak with mono only again. The stretch in the line made it practically impossible to break off if you get snagged and it creates a fairly dangerous situation. Trying to unsnag yourself really makes you unstable. I have nasty cuts in my fingers from trying to grip the line (didn't have gloves). I'm pretty sure it would be impossible (for me at least) to actually break that line without going for a swim. So I had to cut the line and lose it all. This was in 60fow btw.

Someone please tell me its easier with braid mainline haha

tldr: if you use mono mainline you will regret it

Hojoman

• Manatee
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Feb 2007