Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2024, 12:41:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 12:06:38 AM]

[April 22, 2024, 11:58:24 PM]

[April 22, 2024, 09:24:28 PM]

[April 22, 2024, 07:49:41 PM]

[April 22, 2024, 06:24:32 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 05:23:36 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 04:53:56 PM]

[April 21, 2024, 09:45:43 AM]

[April 20, 2024, 08:27:22 PM]

[April 20, 2024, 07:37:51 PM]

[April 20, 2024, 07:28:42 PM]

[April 20, 2024, 09:08:36 AM]

[April 20, 2024, 08:41:07 AM]

[April 20, 2024, 07:12:18 AM]

[April 19, 2024, 10:54:38 PM]

[April 19, 2024, 10:40:43 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Eagle Lake  (Read 3816 times)

Pat R.

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Aug 2006
I was wondering if any one out there has fished Eagle Lake in late October, I did fish it last year in November in my boat but never in a kayak, I am new to this wonderfull sport and was thinking about leaving my boat behind this year and trying it in my new kayak or would that be a mistake. thanks for your comments

Pat

beenfishin

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Oct 2005
Welcome to the board Pat.
I fished Eagle Lake over Labor Day weekend, and although it is a huge lake, a kayak can be very productive, especially when the weather cools and the trout move to feed in the tules.  We stayed in Spalding, and paddled across the lake to fish the Youth Camp, where I landed a 3.3 lber, lost another, and had several nice hits.  The pattern has changed since then, and the fish are spreading out.  Find the tules between Spalding and Pelican Point, and throw grubs/very small swimbaits.

Pat R.

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
Nice fish, we are also going to stay at Spalding next month last year that area was to shallow to fish we cough most are fish fly-fishing with woolybugers brown or green. I might try it this year in my kayak thanks for the post.

Pat

KZ

• Sea Lion