Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 05:08:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 05:07:22 AM]

[March 27, 2024, 10:53:01 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 08:00:55 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:25:42 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 07:05:39 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 04:18:57 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 12:35:34 PM]

[March 27, 2024, 11:18:23 AM]

[March 26, 2024, 07:45:07 PM]

[March 26, 2024, 06:19:03 PM]

[March 26, 2024, 05:47:06 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 07:10:08 PM]

[March 25, 2024, 03:17:35 PM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Going Classic with a Touch of Modernity?  (Read 3642 times)

slowriprun

• Salmon
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
I'm going to tear down a 10 foot Berkley 'Pro Fisher' fiberglass rod.
I'd like to share ideas with others that enjoy doing it. I'm not good at it. I know there are other boards for 'rod building' but the deal there is mostly new, high module graphite rods, built beautifully, yet just not my style, as of today.

So, I bought this guy for less than 10 bucks, and it was beat up. The cork was in good condition; I like to work with that. The blank looked to be solid = No obvious chips to the black paint or indents ( I can feel those by running my hand slowly up the rod).

Using mostly 80 grit sand paper, I took it down to glass.

I'm not digging on the brown blank, so from here, I'm going to color it and epoky it, before 'modernizing' it with new guides. Plus, I don't have any guides to use anyway. :smt002

slowriprun

• Salmon
  • View Profile
Man, I can't even post right and I'm going to build a rod?

Now, I'm going for two pictures. Big step.

Jedmo

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: May 2008
Looks like a great project bro. Can't wait to see how it will turn out. I'm sure it will be another great fish catching rod.

Jedmo
1st place GS3 2009
7th place AOTY 2009

Christian

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Oct 2011