Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 05:06:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[Today at 04:15:52 AM]

[Today at 04:04:00 AM]

[Today at 02:42:27 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 09:45:12 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 08:39:39 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 07:50:41 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 04:31:01 PM]

[April 24, 2024, 11:46:31 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 10:38:46 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 10:16:10 AM]

[April 24, 2024, 06:30:45 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:07:13 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:29:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 07:26:53 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:03:07 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 06:01:09 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 01:20:14 PM]

[April 23, 2024, 09:23:34 AM]

[April 23, 2024, 12:06:38 AM]

Support NCKA

Support the site by making a donation.

Topic: Staying cool in a wetsuit  (Read 946 times)

Madraz

• Sand Dab
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Dec 2018
Since I'm fairly new to kayak fishing and am still trying to figure things out, how do you wetsuit wearers prevent overheating? I went out at the end of December at pillar point and nearly passed out from heat exhaustion, the wetsuit combined with a well fitted pfd had me dying in the sun. I can only imagine how a nice summers day would make me feel.
Since I already own a bunch of wetsuits I don't want to throw down a bunch of cash for a drysuit?
Any ideas guys?

FishingAddict

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Nov 2007
3 Mil Farmer Johns should work. 
2018 Hobie Revolution 13 Cheeesy Orange Papaya
2019 Hobie Revolution 11 Seagrass Green

Mojo Jojo

• Sea Lion
  • View Profile
  • Date Registered: Apr 2016
Put a measuring cup on a string and pour water on yourself as you get heated, works fine for summers up here in a surfing 3/4 mil with pfd on. Now we don’t hit the 100* mark but you’d likely be colder then me down here as we’re ised to different temps.

2013 Jackson Big Tuna.........Ours
2011 Native Mariner Propel 12.5...His
2015 Native Slayer Propel 13.......Hers